Home > Uncategorized > Kang Talks! Matt Lindland In DREAM GP?

Kang Talks! Matt Lindland In DREAM GP?

There is a new article on thefightnetwork.com where Denis Kang talks about his future fights.

“I thought I was fighting Dec. 31, so I fly all the way to Montreal to train with Georges [St. Pierre], bust my ass and spend all kinds of money just to find I have no fight,” Kang said. “[Then], I’m told I’m fighting March 15, and I find out that’s not happening, either. It changes my whole schedule. Now I have 10 weeks instead of four left in my training camp. It’s ridiculous.”

“I want to win the grand prix,” Kang said. “Now they’ve got Akiyama, [Melvin] Manhoef, [Zelg] Galesic, [Kazushi] Sakuraba, Dong Sik Yoon … and I heard that Matt Lindland is going to be signing with them. There are a lot of good fighters I want to fight right there.”

If we look at which fighters that are signed and are in the right weight to be available for the GP at this time it would look something like:

Yoshihiro Akiyama, Yoon Dong Sik, Denis Kang, Kazushi Sakuraba, Melvin Manhoef, Zelg Galesic, Kin Taiei, Kiyoshi Tamura, Minowaman, Masakatsu Funaki, Katsuyori Shibata, Shungo Oyama and Yousuke Nishijima.

They will probably also try hard to sign Misaki for this GP. Misaki’s deal with WVR Sengoku is only for one fight.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Mike David
    February 19, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Didn’t Nishijima retire after the Manhoef fight?

  2. February 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I haven’t read anything like that but it wouldn’t surprise me if he did.

  3. Peter H.
    February 19, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    we could possibly see Sakuraba Vs. Tamura in the GP, or would you think they would save that match for later?

  4. February 20, 2008 at 6:10 am

    It’s possible, they need a main event fight. If they can’t get Misaki for Akiyama or something else we might see it.

    But it wouldn’t surprise me if Sakuraba isn’t even in the GP, as Rickson seems to get closer and closer to fighting one last fight and I doubt it’ll be in a GP.

  1. February 21, 2008 at 6:10 am

Leave a Reply

