Home > Uncategorized > CroCop Retirement Talk! Taken Out Of Context?

CroCop Retirement Talk! Taken Out Of Context?

Cro Cop Retiring Again?

Cro Cop is definitely not retiring in 2009. The quote from the Croatian article published last week was taken of context. Here is what he really said when asked for his long term plans:

“I’m not at the stage in my career where I can make long term plans. I will turn 35 in September. Today my health is my priority. I think I’ll be able to fight three times in Dream in 2009 and I also hope for a farewell fight in the UFC.” Quote from the Savage Science.

He was asked about long term plans, he simply said that he is not at the stage of his career when he can make these type of plans. He wants to fight 3 times in 2009 and perhaps down the road have a farewell fight in the UFC. Cro Cop has been talking retirement since 2006. I don’t think he can be taken at his word regarding the retirement issue.

Here is a chronological look back at all the Cro Cop retirement talk since early 2006.

“I will retire if I don’t win the OWGP” – 2006

“Streamers and confetti fell from the roof of the Super Arena as Cro Cop fell to his knees overcome with emotion. He declared the day as the best of his life, and revealed shortly afterwards that had he failed to win the tournament he was planning to retire from MMA.” – September, 2006

“The Fight Network is reporting Mirko Cro Cop will retire following the final four fights on his UFC contract. In a press conference with media prior to UFC 70, Cro Cop stated his desire to return to his duties with the Croatian special police force. Mirko is scheduled to fight at UFC 75 in London. His opponent for the English event is currently unknown.” – April, 2007

“I will take UFC belt and retire thats for sure” – 2007

“Mirko ‘Cro Cop’ Filipovic announced today on Croatian television his intentions to retire from mixed martial arts after his contract with the Ultimate Fighting Championship expires … Cro Cop says he has four fights remaining on his contract with the Las Vegas-based promotion, beginning with his next fight he confirmed for September 8’s UFC 75 in London, England. – May, 2007

“The Croatian heavyweight says he has five or six fights left before he calls time on his MMA career but said his recent defeats in the Octagon did leave him questioning his future. He told his official website: “I did think of retiring the night after my last defeat, but I’m not going to end my career soon.” November, 2007

“I have many things to say. What you could easily guess by now is that I won’t be retiring. I’ll keep on fighting, it’s my life, it’s what I do.” – February, 2008

“As a sportsman, I don’t think about this. But sometime I’ll have to retire. Let’s hope not in the next 3-4 years.” – April, 2008

Translation by Robert K at Free Fight Videos he will cover UFC 93 live from Ireland.

  1. rene levesque
    January 13, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    I hope Filipovic just shuts his mouth and go. Im tired of this Oprhaesque bull..
    You want a retirement dinner as well?

    Although I would pay good mony to see Overeem hit him in the balls a couple of times fucking goosestepping nazi.

  1. January 9, 2009 at 9:20 pm
  2. January 13, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Leave a Reply

