Home > Elsewhere: The Battles On The Outside > Akiyama Comments! Misunderstands Referee

Akiyama Comments! Misunderstands Referee

Quick translation of Yoshihiro Akiyama’s comments on Japanese site Sportsnavi post UFC 100:

Alan was a very tough fighter.
The damage of the low blow in the beginning of the fight was quite strong.
I thought that if he hit me there again I wouldn’t be able to continue the fight.
I wanted to take a large break but there was confusion during the fight. I misunderstood the referee saying 5 minutes in English as 5 seconds, I continued the fight urgently but this took a big toll on the exhaustion of my physical strength.
My eye got injured when I got downed on the first round by a left.
I felt an abnormality in my eye after the end of the 1st round.

One eye was closed so I didn’t know about my sense of distance. Because I couldn’t see any attacks from my opponents right side I received a lot of leg kicks from that side.
I didn’t continue with the game plan, the only reason I won was my feeling that I really didn’t want to lose this fight.
After the fight when I was in the hospital, Dana White came personally and told me first hand that me and Belcher’s fight was elected as the fight of the night. I was very happy.

Something about the booing. Akiyama says that they (the UFC/authorized people) told him that the booing was because Bisping had come by the entrance at the end of the fight, so there would be no misunderstandings.

Alan is the toughest fighter I have faced and I’m proud to have been able to fight him.
I will devote myself from now on so please support me.

Update: Some people say Akiyama should have known beforehand. I don’t know if he knew or not, but when he thinks the ref told him 5 seconds, he gets insecure. What if he would’ve thought: “I have 5 minutes, they told me beforehand, who cares what the referee is telling me right now” (maybe he misunderstood what they told him and his people beforehand?), he ignores the ref, and then the ref calls the fight and declares Belcher the winner.

Stuff like that has happened before, Pawel Nastula vs. Yang Dong Yi in SENGOKU also looked like some miss communication. When a ref feels he isn’t being listened to he can just decide to call the fight in a split second. Fighter gets low blow while on the ground as the ref stands them up, ref doesn’t see the low blow, the fighter is still lying down, ref think he’s being ignored and the fighter is milking, calls the fight.

  1. BM2
    July 14, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Toughest fighter he has faced? Booooooooo!

    <.<

  2. Sex&Pound
    July 14, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Belcher isn’t only a very tough and skilled fighter, he also is way bigger tha Aki, so he might be right with that statement.

  3. Whomever
    July 14, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I know he was in the middle of a fight and all, but did Akiyama honestly think that he had only 5 seconds to recover from the illegal blow? That’s kind of ridiculous when you think about it, language gap or not.

  4. July 14, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    he better get used to the booing in the UFC. thats like the UFCs crowd anthem to do at every event that doesn’t resemble a fast paced boxing match. i wonder what excuse the UFC management will come up with every time.

  5. July 14, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    I don’t think he thought that before. But apparently he thought he had 5 secs from when the ref told him.

  6. Minowa
    July 14, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    I’ve noticed that Akiyama didn’t hold hands with his cornermen as usual while walking out… Smart move, Sexiyama. (-_^)

  7. gjs
    July 15, 2009 at 12:30 am

    It’s funny that he misunderstood that. I told a few of my Japanese friends that Joe Rogan said, “Akiyama might not understand what 5minutes means.” They all laughed & thought it was a typically ignorant American comment. I guess Akiyama is 1 of those Japanese guys who spends years studying at school & can’t speak a lick. He probably cheated on his tests. It was funny how Rogan tried to present Akiyama as being super popular in Japan & “the pride of Osaka,” when the truth is the reverse.

    Does Akiyama have an excuse for punching Belcher after the bell at the end of the 1st round?

  8. July 15, 2009 at 12:43 am

    way to insult the guy

  9. Whomever
    July 15, 2009 at 12:49 am

    I guess if the guy misunderstood, he misunderstood. I was probably a little critical at first, but there definitely was a lot working against him in that situation.

    He manned up, had a fast recovery, and then went on to win the fight with a busted eye.

  10. damage714
    July 15, 2009 at 1:21 am

    I dont believe he is the type of person to lie about something like that especially after a victory. That being said I really believe that Akiyama could have done much much better. He needs to step up his training for his endurance. I really look forward to a hugely improved fighter in his next fight!!!

  11. S
    July 15, 2009 at 1:38 am

    Lol at Dana Thinking Akiyama is his trogan hoarse in to the japanese market.

  12. s
    July 15, 2009 at 3:36 am

    You never know what a ref might do there, the frst Lawler/Smith fight ended on that same nonsense(eyepoke instead of lowblow – Smith says he wants 5 min, ref thinks he can’t continue and just called the fight. Smith aaid if he had to go without the break he could’ve, he just thought the rule was up to 5 min.)

  13. Anonymous
    July 15, 2009 at 4:25 am

    you dont get 5 mins for an eye poke, only low blows, which is retarded imo

  14. Anonymous
    July 15, 2009 at 5:06 am

    Well i don’t believe he actually one that fight i mean if the roles where reversed u know the Japanese wouldn’t have given a close fight to an American fighter and i thought Belcher clearly one that fight and was pretty much robbed in his own country

  15. tinobar
    July 15, 2009 at 6:31 am

    well he will get booed less than he got at yennoreka bunch pissed pride fans haha at saitama

  16. wentz
    July 15, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    He is a disgrace for signing with zuffa.

  17. gjs
    July 16, 2009 at 12:18 am

    He needs to drop to welterweight. The size difference between him & Belcher was ridiculous.

  18. geamma
    July 16, 2009 at 5:39 am

    agreed, belcher is a monsterous middleweight

  19. Anonymous
    July 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    he is a hero

  20. Anonymous
    July 17, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    He one the fight? Dude you should go back to school or pay more attention. You sound like like a retard.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

