DEEP 43 IMPACT! Unmotivated Mishima?

Otsuka X Mishima - Sportsnavi.com

Otsuka X Mishima - Sportsnavi.com

DEEP Featherweight champion Dokonjonosuke Mishima had a very tough weight cut in preparation for his title defense against DREAM Featherweight GP participant Takafumi Otsuka tomorrow. He had to weigh-in twice to make the weight.

Mishima said: “It’s difficult to raise my motivation with Otsuka as an opponent. It’s inevitable that I have a lower status image (of him)”. He continues: “It’s bad if I lose but I wonder if it’s all right if I lose”.

However, Mishima has some motivation for the fight because he has never fought in a big stage in Osaka, and there is where DREAM.12 will take place. He wants to win here and fight at DREAM.12.

Otsuka also has future ambitions to fight in DREAM: “Unfortunately I lost in DREAM but I’ll become DEEP champion this time, and I want to once again fight in DREAM and win”.

The other two big fights on tomorrows card are the Bantamweight title fight between Masakazu Imanari and Tomohiko Hori, and the main event between Ryo Chonan and Jutaro Nakao. All four fighters made weight today.

  1. whomever
    August 22, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    I hope Mishima is just running some schtick here. It’s definitely disconcerting that he missed weight. I want to see him beat Otsuka and fight in DREAM.

  2. Anonymous
    August 23, 2009 at 1:36 am

    I’m thinking Mishima could be shot. Great fighter though so hopefully he proves otherwise.

  3. pwh
    August 23, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Mishima is undefeated in DEEP, so I think there would be motivation to keep that record going. Would be great to see Mishima in DREAM, especially if he gets the opportunity to fight in front of his home crowd.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

