The Korean Typhoon! Won Sik Park

Since losing his debut in 2006, 22 year old Korean Won Sik “Parky” Park is undefeated in his last 8 fights and has started to open some eyes in the MMA world…

parky

Name: Won Sik Park
Age: 22
Background: Taekwondo
MMA Record: 7-1-1
Dojo: CMA Korea Ulsan Gym

Be Proud Of Your Roots

Parky has trained Taekwondo for 7 years and is currently a 3rd degree black belt. He says: “A lot of Japanese fighters are proud of their backbone like Judo and Karate. However, Korean fighters who have Taekwondo as their backbone, they aren’t proud of it. I’m not an elite Taekwondo player but it is the foundation which made it possible for me to fight in MMA. I tried Taekwondo moves like it’s kicks and sidestep in my fights before and it was plenty effective. I want to use Taekwondo’s strong points in MMA and make the predominance of Taekwondo known.”

Taekwondo Vs. Kyokushin Karate

With three consecutive first round victories in DEEP, Parky has his eyes set on Katsunori Kikuno and the DEEP Lightweight title. He says that Kikuno has power and his middle kick is strong. He is currently preparing a counter for Kikuno’s crescent kick. If the time comes he intends to increase his physical strength training and train with Jang Yong Kim, the only fighter to have not been stopped by Kikuno in his last 5 fights, as well.

“I’ll definitely take back the belt that Bang Seung Hwan relinquished.”

The White Cage Of DREAM Next

To level up Parky has started to visit Team MAD to train with fighters such as UFC’s Dong Hyun Kim and Myeon Ho Bae.

On September 29th, 2009, Parky was announced as a participant of the white cage of DREAM where he will face Cage Force Lightweight champion Kuniyoshi Hironaka.

Fight Videos

Visit Parky’s YouTube channel to see most of his MMA fights and some grappling footage.

________________

Sources: Kamipro Korea Column, Bout Review

  1. cacti
    September 28, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    I love Parky, and hope he gets a shot at Dream 12. But not against Kikuno, I don’t think he’s ready for such a tough fight.

  2. whomever
    September 28, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Why not Parky vs. Nakamura at DREAM.11? I think that would be a stellar fight.

  3. ShootJunkie
    September 28, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Parky’s an exciting fighter and I wish him the best. Hopefully he will grace the cage at Dream 12 but not against Kikuno. Like Cacti said, he’s just not ready for him yet. I’ll always support Parky though as he’s a very exciting fighter. Hell waht Korean fighter isn’t?

  4. kawa's boy toy
    September 29, 2009 at 2:46 am

    I’m a fan just cuz he said he wants to make TKD known to the world. I’m a korean and honestly, even i had some doubts about the effectiveness of TKD. Throughout the world, especially in America, TKD is known as a joke of an MA. I, honestly, am angry because of this, and hope Parky would change the world’s view on TKD like Lyoto/GSP/Kikuno has done for Karate.

  5. ShootJunkie
    September 29, 2009 at 4:14 am

    I’m a fan of Korean martial arts and find them effective. I started as a practitioner of HKD and I loved it. I’ve also been reading up on a less traditional form of HKD called Gongkwon Yusul that’s becoming very popular in Korea and I’d love to train in that as well. It seems like MMA in a gi pretty much. I think all forms can be effective, its just up to the practitioner.

  6. kenny wang
    September 29, 2009 at 6:35 am

    i’m from koreah and ive been styding the ancient Koreah martial art of Suk Yung Wang (pronounced sukyowan) I think i should study more koreah martial art because koreah is numbah 1 oh man i’m so proud of myself.ta ma deh bun han guo ren.

  7. September 29, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Tru dat

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment